12th Annual South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet

South Texas is gearing up for the 2016 baseball season with the 12th Annual South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet presented by Corpus Christi Caller-Times and iHeartMEDIA on January 14 at the Solomon P. Ortiz Center in Corpus Christi Texas

The evening will be celebrating the life and legacy of the late Steve Castro; long-time Robstown Head coach who will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Castro passed away in October at the age of 66. He was elected to the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2014 after guiding Robstown’s baseball program for 28 seasons making the playoffs 24 of those seasons and bringing back Consecutive State Championships (91-91) to his hometown. His Cotton Pickers also made State Tournament Appearances in 87, 88, 90.

Featured Guest will be Corpus Christi Hooks Original Manager from 2005-2007 Dave Clark.

The banquet will feature a Preseason Large School (6A-5A) and Small School (4A, 3A, 2A) All Star Teams that were nominated and voted on by the coaches of South Texas.

The Large School Team has Carroll Tigers 3B Michael Berglund, Trace Bucey, and P Jon Mike Rodriguez. District 30-5A shines as they have 9 out of the total 14 players selected. Calallen is lead by All State 2B Josh Baltierra and OF Nathan Rabe. District Runner up Gregory Portland places OF Sage Hamon and 3B Ryan Sturgeon. Catcher Angel De La Paz and 1B A.J. Hatheway represent Moody. Flour Bluff, Miller, and Victoria East each place OF Anthony Montoya, P A.G. Ayala, and P Eli Villa, respectively. Rounding out the team are Ray junior shortstop Nick Loftin, and King junior pitcher Dustin Saenz.

In the Small School Division State Finalist Bishop Badgers continue to reap the rewards of their Round Rock appearance by placing P Noe Garza, Of Aaron Cardona, DH Dalton Horner, and OF Rico Trevino on the team. Also on the team, no strangers to postseason and preseason accolades are Banquete 3B Jake Mijares, Robstown P Jesse Ray Garcia, and Sinton SS Jordan Martinez.
Joining them are Sinton C C.J. Zepeda and Banquete 2B Richard Sanchez, Falfurrias 1B Abel Guerra, Hebbronville OF Isaiah Trevino, Refugio P Cole Van Ness, and Odem P Michael Everett.

Posted on: