Banquete’s Cooper Wildman receives 2016 Matt Beveridge Award

Banquete senior right fielder/pitcher Cooper Wildman is the 2016 recipient of the Matt Beveridge Award.

Wildman will be honored at the 12th South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet on Thursday, January 14, at the Solomon P. Ortiz Center.

The event is presented by the Corpus Christi Caller-Times and iHeartMEDIA. Tickets are on sale at the Whataburger Field Box Office. To order by phone, call 361-561-HOOK (4665).

Wildman, ranked first in his class with a 106 average, has been a Bulldog varsity baseball player for four years. He is a three-time all-district selection who hit .315 with 11 RBIs for Rusty Miller’s 2015 District 31-3A champions. On the mound, Wildman went 3-0 and posted a 0.75 ERA.

Wildman earned three varsity football letters at quarterback and safety, but was forced to miss the 2015 season due to an ACL injury. He’s also sprinted for two district championship track teams.

Off the field, Wildman serves as president of his class, the National Honor Society, and Future Farmers of America. He’s parliamentarian and former president of the Travelin’ 4-H Club. Wildman, who owns an extensive community service record, has competed in the Nueces County Junior Livestock Show, State Fair of Texas Show, San Antonio Livestock Show, Houston Livestock Show, Austin Star of Texas Show, and Fort Worth Stock Show.

A trio of juniors – Miller pitcher A.G. Ayala, Tuloso-Midway second baseman Ryan Chapa, and Benavides pitcher/outfielder Jesus Sanchez – were the other 2016 Matt Beveridge Award finalists.

Seven years ago, the Corpus Christi Hooks established the award to honor the life and legacy of one of the Coastal Bend’s most beloved and respected high school athletes. Area high school baseball coaches nominate players based on four attributes: character, courage, leadership, and spirit.

Matt excelled in both football and baseball for the King Mustangs. He had a heart for God, his family, church, and teammates.

Following his junior year, Matt was diagnosed with cancer. Through two years of treatment, Matt showed tremendous courage battling the disease, inspiring everyone around him.

Past Matt Beveridge Award Winners
2009 – Cole Dombroski, Flour Bluff
2010 – Dalton Conway, Rockport-Fulton
2011 – Ervin Polasek, Gregory-Portland
2012 – Alan Scott, Bishop
2013 – Rivers Ewing, Flour Bluff
2014 – Tim Rogers, Gregory-Portland
2015 – Robert Morin, Karnes City

Posted on: